Scholarships and Awards

Congratulations to the 2014-15 Award Recipients!

Outstanding History Major

Jason Pandich

Outstanding Social Studies Major

Sean E. Adamchick

Outstanding History Paper

James J. Coughlin

MacPhee Scholarship

Andrew L. Abbey

Zimmer History Scholarship

Jefferson D. Dedrick

John J. and Helen B. Mancuso Scholarship

James J. Coughlin

Alanna R. Hazard

Kimberly S. Hodges

Mikel S. Pierce

Anna M. Prince

Jordan A. Reed

Jacob R. Schermerhorn

Joseph T. Gallagher Scholarship

Devinne R. Arnold

Dillon D. Castro

William and Helen Chazanof Scholarship

Russell Wallace

Emily C. Zane

Kenneth E. Cutler Scholarship

Mary Kay Taylor

Kim Korhummel Scholarship

Samuel H. Hoffman

Phi Alpha Theta Award

James J. Coughlin

Honors in Student Teaching

Brad Costa

Michael Fitzgerald

Jeffrey Schmidt



Jason Pandich receives the Outstanding History Major award from Dr. Hagedorn

The honors program of the Department of History is designed to honor graduates of the History or Social Studies programs who have consistently demonstrated ability and produced work of high quality in the discipline. The honors designation is given to students who achieve an all-college average of 3.0; an average in history courses of 3.25; and who earn appropriate grades in HIST 499 (Senior Honors Seminar) and HIST 201 (Doing History). For more information on the honors program, contact the chairperson.

The department gives a variety of awards:

The Chazanof Award recognizes student work in local history




The MacPhee and Mancuso Scholarships are given to promising History or Social Studies majors who have attained junior rank.




The Kim Korhummel Scholarship was established by the Fredonia Class of 1994 in memory of Ms. Korhummel, a student in the department and a member of the Class of ’94, who died of ALS before graduating.


The Zimmer Scholarship is awarded to a junior or senior history major with career plans in law or communications.


The department also annually recognizes an Outstanding History major, an Outstanding Social Studies major, and an Outstanding History paper. Phi Alpha Theta, the history honor society, recognizes academic excellence.


History Department Office

E332 Thompson Hall
State University of New York at Fredonia
Fredonia, NY 14063
(716) 673-3277
(716) 673-3332 fax