Fredonia Award for Spatial Studies

This is a cash award made to a graduating senior who has pursued an interdisciplinary education including GIS while at Fredonia. Dr. Michael P. Wilson of the Fredonia Geosciences Department established this award in 2003. One student is selected by the GIS faculty. Listed below are the past winners.

  • Rachael Heltz (Major: Environmental Sciences, Minor: GIS) 2003
  • Merissa Harvey (Major: Geology, Minor: GIS) 2004
  • Dawn Shermet (Major: Environmental Sciences, Minor: GIS) 2005
  • Samantha Shoemaker (Majors: Economics, Political Science, Minor: GIS) 2006
  • Shea Mathis (Major: Environmental Sciences) 2007
  • Grant Saunders (Major: Interdisciplinary Studies) 2008
  • Ryan Hollamby (Major: Environmental Sciences, Minors: GIS, Biology, Geology) 2009
  • Paul Frey (Major: Computer Science, Minor: GIS) 2010
  • Mary Clark (Major: Environmental Sciences, Minor: GIS) 2011
  • Bradley Hollamby (Major: Criminal Justice, Minors: GIS, Legal Studies) 2012
  • Patrick Finnerty (Majors: Geophysics, Geology, Minor: GIS) 2013
  • Jacob Calabrese (Major: Environmental Sciences, Minor: GIS) 2013
  • Caleb Bardeen (Major: Economics, Minor: GIS) 2014
  • Jocelyn Lash (Major: Sociology, Minor: GIS) 2015
  • Zakkary Hess (Major:  Geology, Minor: GIS) 2016

CNY ASPRS Student of the Year Award (Central New York Region of the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing)

This award is presented at the Region Annual Meeting in May or June. For more information, see the following web site: Two cash prizes and a 1-year free membership to the ASPRS. Fredonia has had 4 past winners:

  • Sharon Pitiss (Major: Geophysics, Minor: GIS) 1998 1st Place Undergraduate
  • Ian Bruce (Major: Biology, Minor: GIS) 2003 1st Place Undergraduate
  • Amber Lauzon (Major: Geology, Minor: GIS) 2005 1st Place Undergraduate, 2006 2nd Place Graduate (SUNY Buffalo Geography)
  • Dawn Shermet (Major: Environmental Sciences, Minor: GIS) 2005 2nd Place Undergraduate

MSDAAG Student Paper Competition (Middle States Division of the Association of American Geographers)

This award is made at the annual fall meeting. Papers are typically due in early October. Cash prizes are awarded and 1-year free membership to the AAG.

Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Office

230 Jewett Hall
State University of New York at Fredonia
Fredonia, NY 14063
(716) 673-3884