CIS Faculty & Staff

The Computer and Information Science department's faculty is diverse and has expertise in various areas. These professors are committed to excellence in teaching and care for each individual student. In addition, they are active in research, having published several books, contributed to renowned journals, and presented at national and international conferences. They have also received many on- and off-campus honors and awards.

Dr. Ziya Arnavut

Ziya Arnavut, Ph. D.

Professor & Department Chair

Research Interests: Data Compression, Multimedia Communications, Image Processing, Combinatorial Algorithms.
Office: Fenton 2148
Phone: 716 673-3864
E-mail: Ziya.Arnavut@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/arnavut

Patricia Anderson

Department Office Assistant

Office: Fenton 2148
Phone: 716 673-4820
Fax: 716 673-4821
E-mail:  patricia.anderson@fredonia.edu

 

Melanie Austin

Melanie Austin

Department Secretary

Office: Fenton 2149
Phone: 716 673-4820
Fax: 716 673-4821
E-mail: Melanie.Cross@fredonia.edu

Gurmukh Singh

Gurmukh Singh, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer

Research Interests: Computer Simulation, Application of Information Systems in Education
Office: Fenton 110
Phone: 716 673-4734
E-mail: Gurmukh.Singh@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/singh

Mike Szocki

Michael Szocki, B.S.

System Administrator

Office: Fenton 2158
Phone: 716 673-3670
E-mail: Michael.Szocki@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/szocki

   
Dr. Gentian, Buzi

Gentian Buzi, Ph.D. 

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Machine Learning, Control Theory, Bioinformatics.
Office: 2153 Fenton Hall
Phone: 716 673-4961
E-mail: Gentian.Buzi@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/buzi

   
Mr. Ceker, Hayreddin

Hayreddin Ceker, Ph.D. Candidate

Lecturer

Research Interests: Security, Machine Learning.
Office: 2140 Fenton Hall
Phone: 716 673-3193
E-mail: Hayreddin.Ceker@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/ceker

   
Greg Cole

Gregory Cole, M.S.

Lecturer

Office: Fenton 2139
Phone: 716 673-3646
E-mail: Gregory.Cole@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/cole
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 120

   
Patricia Davidson

Patricia Davison, M.S. 

Lecturer

Office: Fenton 2137
Phone: 716 673-3646
E-mail: Patricia.Davison@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/davidson
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 251

   
Derrik Decker

Derrik Decker, M.S. 

Lecturer

Office: Fenton 109
Phone: 716 673-4757
E-mail: Derrik.Decker@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/decker
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 203, CSIT 105, CSIT 104

   
Dr. Gang (Gary) Hu

Gang (Gary) Hu, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Computer Vision, Pattern Recognition.
Office: 2150 Fenton Hall
Phone: 716 673-3573
E-mail: Gang.Hu@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/hu

   
Mark Mackey

Mark Mackey, B.S.

Instructor

Office: Fenton 171
Phone: 716 673-4811
E-mail: Mark.Mackey@fredonia.edu
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 251 Information Systems Structures
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/mackey

   
Maloney

Daniel Maloney, M.S.

Lecturer

Office: Fenton 2153
Phone: 716 673-4961
E-mail: Daniel.Maloney@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/maloney
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 241, 242

   
Mendez

Michael Mendez, M.S.

Lecturer

Office: Fenton 2137
Phone: 716 673-3646
E-mail: Michael.Mendez@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/mendez
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 107, CSIT 207

   
Dr. Nazarenko

Natalie Nazarenko, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Information Systems
Office: Fenton 210
Phone: 716 673-3350
E-mail: Natalie.Nazarenko@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/nazarenko
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 251, CSIT 471, CSIT 473, CSIT 475

   
Pelz

Adrienne Pelz, B.S.

Instructor

Office: Fenton 2155
Phone: 716 673-3638
E-mail: Adrienne.Pelz@fredonia.edu
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 120

Andrew Pingitore

Andrew Pingitore, M.S.

Lecturer

Office: Fenton 213
Phone: 716 673-3872
E-mail: Andrew.Pingitore@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/pingitor
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 104, CSIT 105

   
Stephen Raghunath

Stephen Raghunath, M.S.

Instructor

Office: Fenton 2153
Phone: 716 673-4961
E-mail: stephen.raghunath@fredonia.edu
Home page: pizza.cs.fredonia.edu/~raghunath
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 107

   
Michael Scialdone

Michael Scialdone, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Social Media, Human-Computer Interaction, E-Learning, and the Intellectual Development of the Information-Based Disciplines
Office: Fenton 2154
Phone: 716 673-4694
E-mail: Michael.Scialdone@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/scialdone

   
Yue (Amber) Zhang

Yue (Amber) Zhang 

Instructor

Office: Fenton 2138
Phone: 716 673-3573
E-mail: Yue.Zhang@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/zhang

Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 105, CSIT 251

   
Dr. Junaid Zubairi

Junaid Zubairi, Ph.D. 

Professor

Research Interests: Network Traffic Engineering, VLSI Fault Analysis
Office: Fenton 2151
Phone: 716 673-4694
E-mail: Junaid.Zubairi@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/zubairi

   

 

Emeriti Faculty

 

Tat-Hung Chan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Knot Theory

E-mail: Tat-Hung.Chan@fredonia.edu

 
Dr. Hansen

John Hansen, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: Embedded Application Development
E-mail: John.Hansen@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/hansen

 
 

William Leslie, M.S.

Assistant Professor

E-mail: William.Leslie@fredonia.edu

 
Dr. Khalid Siddiqui

Khalid Siddiqui, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: Knowledge Engineering, Pattern Recognition, Image Processing
E-mail: Khalid.Siddiqui@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/siddiqui

 
 

Thomas Taylor, M.S.

Lecturer

E-mail: Thomas.Taylor@fredonia.edu

 
 

 

 

 

 

Computer and Information Sciences Office

2148 Fenton Hall
State University of New York at Fredonia
Fredonia, NY 14063
(716) 673-4820
(716) 673-4821 fax