Faculty & Staff

Dr. Fountain Dr. Matthew Fountain
Department Chair, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Professor, Ph.D., 1994, University of Rochester
- Teaches biochemistry, bioorganic, general chemistry, organic chemistry, introductory biology and advanced biochemistry techniques.
e-mail: matthew.fountain@fredonia.edu

Ms. Krista Bellis
Lecturer, M.S. Science Education 2001, Oregon State University
- Teaches general chemistry laboratory and Essential Science I.
krista.bellis@fredonia.edu

Dr. James Bowser

Professor Emeritus, Ph.D., 1976, Duke University
- Taught inorganic chemistry, general chemistry and applied spectroscopy
e-mail: james.bowser@fredonia.edu

 

 

 

 

Dr. Mark Even
Visiting Professor Ph.D., 2007, University of Michigan
- Teaches physical and inorganic chemistry and introductory general chemsitry courses.
e-mail:mark.even@fredonia.edu
 
Dr. Gronquist Dr. Matthew Gronquist
Associate Professor, Ph.D., 2002, Cornell University
- Teaches, organic and advanced organic chemistry, and organic chemistry laboratory.
e-mail: matthew.gronquist@fredonia.edu
 
Dr. Mark Janik Dr. Mark Janik
Associate Professor, PhD., 1997, SUNY-Binghamton
- Teaches organic and advanced organic chemistry, and organic and general chemistry laboratory.
e-mail: mark.janik@fredonia.edu
 
Dr. Thomas S. Janik Dr. Thomas Janik
Professor and Department Chair, Ph.D., 1983, SUNY-Buffalo
- Teaches organometallic chemistry, analytical chemistry and instrumental analysis.
e-mail: thomas.janik@fredonia.edu
 
Dr. Holly Lawson
Associate Professor, Ph.D., 1988, SUNY-Buffalo
-Teaches organic, inorganic and general chemistry, and science education.
e-mail: holly.lawson@fredonia.edu
 
 

Rachael M. Lesher
Lab Coordinator, Houghton Hall Safety Officer, Stockroom Manager, B. S. Biochemistry, 2008, SUNY-Fredonia
- supervises work study students, prepares lab chemicals, sets up lab equipment, inventory control, waste management, ordering & receiving
e-mail: lesher@fredonia.edu

Dr. Mason Dr. Sherri Mason
 Professor, Ph. D., 2001, University of Montana
-Teaches physical chemistry, consumer chemistry, and environmental chemistry.
e-mail: sherri.mason@fredonia.edu
 
Dr. Milligan Dr. Michael Milligan
Professor, Ph.D., 1993, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
- Teaches environmental chemistry, analytical chemistry, physical chemistry and instrumental analysis.
e-mail: michael.milligan@fredonia.edu
 
   

Chemistry and Biochemistry Department Office

221 Science Center
State University of New York at Fredonia
Fredonia, NY 14063
(716) 673-3281